Documentation
Using Threads

Using Threads

Jan provides a straightforward and private solution for managing your threads with AI on your device. As you interact with AI using Jan, you'll accumulate a history of threads. Jan offers easy tools to organize, delete, or review your past threads with AI. This guide will show you how to keep your threads private and well-organized.

View Thread History

To view your thread history, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the main dashboard.
  2. Locate the list of threads screen on the left side.
  3. To view a specific thread, choose the one you're interested in and then scroll up or down to explore the entire conversation.

Manage the Threads via Folder

To manage your thread history and configurations, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the Thread you want to manage via the list of threads on the left side of the dashboard.
  2. Click on the three dots (⋮) in the Thread section.
  3. There are two available options to select:
    • Reveal in Finder: Opens the thread history and configurations folder.
    • View as JSON: Opens the thread.json file in your default browser.

Rename the Threads Assistant

To rename the threads assistant, follow the steps below:

  1. Select a Thread.
  2. Click on the three dots (⋮) in the Thread section.
  3. Select the Edit Threads Settings to open the threads.json file configurations.
  4. Edit the assistant_name field for the desired assistant name under the assistants array.
  5. Save the file.
  6. Restart the Jan app.

Clean Threads History

To clean all the messages from a thread, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the Thread that you want to clean.
  2. Click on the three dots (⋮) in the Thread section.
  3. Select the Clean Thread button.

This will delete all messages in the thread while keeping the thread settings.

Delete Threads History

To delete a thread, follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to the Thread that you want to delete.
  2. Click on the three dots (⋮) in the Thread section.
  3. Select the Delete Thread button.

This will delete all messages and the thread settings.